The Problem With Hobby Lobby

You’re sick of hearing about it.  I am too.  Every other post in my Facebook newsfeed is about Hobby Lobby.  I’ve read numerous passionate, intelligent, rational arguments from both sides.  I’ve also read numerous mud-slinging, name-calling temper tantrums, also from both sides.

I’m not too interested in talking about the politics of it all… the pros and cons… what it means for businesses… what it means for religious freedom… what it means for women’s rights.  I’m aware of the facts, and I’ve drawn my own conclusions.

What bothers me about the whole debacle with Hobby Lobby is the same thing that bothered me about Duck Dynasty, and Chick-Fil-A, and World Vision.  As succinctly as I can put it:

They’re making Christianity look really bad.

This is the new face of Christianity, folks.  Litigious, grand-standing bullies.  People (and businesses) who place being “right” above all else.  People who put religion ahead of relationships. People who can no longer see the forest of individuals through their trees of self-righteousness.

“YAY, Hobby Lobby!” pro-life people posted, either ignoring or unaware of the fact that Hobby Lobby does much of their business with China, which has a VERY high rate of (often coerced) abortions, deplorable labor conditions, and denies religious freedoms to millions.  And the only reason I know this about them is that it’s all over the news.  Because they made all of this public. Because they opened themselves up to scrutiny and judgment.  Because they followed the path of being bigger, bolder, and louder.  That’ll show ’em!

But what is it showing everyone exactly?  That they’re hypocrites?  I’m not singling Hobby Lobby out on this either, as I’m sure that most (every?) business and individual alike has some hypocritical skeletons hiding in their closet.  We’re all human, doing the best we can.  But if as Christians we’re to stand firm in representing Christ’s love, we’ve gotten way, way off course.

The Christianity that is making headlines today is just about as far from Christ’s love as you can get.

Hypocrisy

Intolerance

Bigotry

Judgment

Arrogance

These are the things that mainstream Christianity seems to be rallying around these days.  Is it really any wonder that so many run when they hear the label, “Christian”?

I’m tired of these people being the spokespeople for something that, at its very core, is supposed to be about love.  I’m tired of people being turned off again and again (and AGAIN) by these negative stories in the news, people drawing conclusions about Christians based on the actions of a few, people whose only exposure to Christianity is another hypocritical corporation taking its case all the way to the Supreme Court to make a point.

What I ferventlhy wish is that everyone would do a little less screaming, “WE ARE CHRISTIANS; You MUST listen to us!”   and a little more living John 13:34-35:

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.

 

Leave a Reply

